top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer

10 Signs you're Becoming an Adult


!0 Signs you're Becoming an Adult Title next to a pile of books

We've all been there. It's 6pm on a Saturday night. You and your friend are messaging about potentially going out, then your significant other sticks their head around the door and asks if you want to order a Chinese and watch a movie "because we've both had a long week", and all evening plans go out the window.


When did we decide it was more fun to relax with a movie and takeaway than go to a party?


Well in my case, as soon as I was old enough to know what all of those were - I'm not exactly a "party girl" - but this is something I've been seeing a lot more of recently within my peers. Yes I do still go to parties and to the pub, but not to the same extent of three times a week like my first year of uni.


I have began to become... an adult.


Shock, horror. I know. It's like a real life horror movie. Instead of the murderer in the kitchen, it's waking up and discovering that you are becoming "a grown up" - totally comparable examples I know.


So I decided I would make a list of all of the things that I consider make you more of an adult for you to read. I do apologise if this list becomes way too real way too soon for anyone.


1. You regularly change your bedding.

Yes this is just general hygiene, but it's very common for the first few years of living away from home to just keep forgetting to change your bedding then realise it's been 3 months. Plus I think the nightmare that is trying to find a space to hang bedding out to dry definitely plays a part.


2. You prefer pubs to clubs, and sofas to pubs.

As discussed in the intro - I do love a nice evening in a pub with friends, but a gathering at one of our houses on the sofa is even more preferable.


3. You get excited by household goods.

I want some new kitchen knives, and like my cake escapade proves, if I go into the home wear aisle of a supermarket, I will buy random things like a potato masher.


4. Outfits you may have happily worn in the depths of winter are now horrifying

You look at students and teens in their skimpy outfits and are slightly appalled, wondering how they're not cold and wanting to wrap them up in a warm scarf.

5. You floss

Pretty self-explanatory really. Take a long white string and butcher your gums with it.


6. You now understand that water is the real grown up drink

At one point it was tea, coffee and alcohol. Now you realise that it's been water all along.


7. You remember the essentials

No more running out of toilet roll for the third time that term because everyone forgot to buy it. You remember to buy bin bags, sponges, washing up liquid and toilet roll.


8. You iron your clothes

This may only be for work, and may be with a hair straightener on the collars and front before you go out the door, but it counts!


9. You batch-cook

Okay so this may be more - you make extra to have leftovers and don't always remember to eat them, but it's a step closer to being a batch-cooking adult.


10. You do your washing before you run out of underwear

The days of wearing bikini bottoms and swimming costumes under your clothes because you forgot to do your washing - again - are long gone... mostly.


Can you relate to any of these? Is there anything you think I've missed?


Hwyl am nawr

J x

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page