top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer

I made "Easy White Bread"

Welcome to the next recipe in the 30 recipe challenge! If you want to read the rest of my endeavours check out my Woman Vs Food section found here.


I was very excited for this one. I absolutely adore homemade bread, and years of watching the Bake Off has given me enough knowledge of bread making to make a great loaf, right?


I decided that after the cake debacle in the aisles of Tesco that I would attempt something that didn't require a particular baking dish, and after a bit of Googling found a recipe that seemed perfect. Now I just needed the skill to go along with it...


Channelling my inner Paul Hollywood I prepared my ingredients and got to work. Now the first section went fine – I succeeded in putting the flour, butter, salt and yeast into a bowl. I even managed to do a bit of mixing! But this is where it all started to go wrong.


I don’t think I mixed it together well enough – or I didn’t add enough water or something, because as soon as I took it out to knead, it began tearing, and didn’t stop. Now I’m a forward thinking millennial – so I obviously hopped on the old google to have a look. The two most common answers I found were over-kneading – and I’d barely started – or not enough water. Now I’d stopped adding water because it had begun to feel sticky already but I dutifully added a few more splashes and lo and behold, the tearing reduced.


I popped my little ball of pretty in a bowl and covered with a tea towel to prove while I went off to do something far more boring. After creeping over and peeking through the side of the clear plastic bowl the allotted hour had passed and I could play with it some more.


I prepared my workspace and plopped out the now very big ball of dough to ‘knock-back’. After a bit more therapeutic kneading I put it on the specified baking tray and covered to let it raise. I then remembered this was for a blog post and grabbed it out again for a quick little photo:

Ball of bread dough
One cute little ball of dough. You're welcome.

One tedious hour later (that’s got to be the worst thing about making bread, the waiting around!) I made some slits in the top and dusted with flour before popping it in the oven. 20 mins later I ran back to take more photos of it in the oven – because by now this thing was like my child I was so proud of it!

Finally, the bread was ready. My kitchen smelled deliciously of baked bread and my stomach was rumbling. Here it is, the final product!

I had barely taken the photo before I was slathering the cut off in butter and devouring it. It wasn't quite Paul Hollywood perfect but I made it again a few days later for family and it was absolutely delicious. Now let me tell you – there is nothing as nice as homemade bread. I think I can count this one as a win again – this recipe thing is going well! (She says, jinxing herself).


Join me next week when I try to make soup… without a blender or anything. Oh dear…


Hwyl am nawr

J x

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page