top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer

5 Musical Recommendations for a Change of Soundtrack

It’s a common problem for musical theatre fans – you get hooked on a few musicals and listen to them on repeat, and never manage to find anything new. I’ve struggled many times with finding different musicals to listen to, so I thought I would share with you my list of 5 lesser known or newer musicals to listen to this summer. Have a read, then sit back and have a listen:


1. Little Women

You’ve probably heard of Little Women, there’s a book, a film starring Christian Bale, and it was famously put in the freezer by Joey Tribiani in Friends. I absolutely love the story of Little Women, and so when I discovered the musical I just had to listen to it. It’s a beautiful story about 4 sisters dealing with love, loss and sisterhood during the American Civil War. If you like the story, or just like musicals set within history, I would really recommend. It’s definitely my favourite musical.


Songs I’m Loving: ‘Astonishing’, ‘Some Things Are Meant to Be’ and ‘Five Forever’.

Logo for the musical Little Women
Image Credit - MTI

2. Six

If you’ve been following the musical theatre world in any way you’ve probably heard of Six. It’s exploded onto the scene and is everywhere. It’s a musical based on the 6 wives of Henry VIII but set as a group of women within a pop group. It’s hard to explain, and my historical side is slightly bothered by how it’s chosen to portray some of the women but it’s well worth a listen.


Songs I’m Loving: ‘Ex-wives’, 'Six' and ‘Don’t Lose Your Head’.

3. The Drowsy Chaperone

Playbill logo for The Drowsy Chaperone
Image Credit - Wikipedia


If you like musicals that break the fourth wall then this is a show for you. It’s very simplistic, and the characters are mostly one-dimensional, but it’s a fun listen.


The show is about the wedding of a glamorous star to her wealthy fiancee and all the catastrophes that ensue. There’s some really nice songs in it and some fun characters to play and it’s just a nice, happy, ridiculous musical.


Songs I’m Loving: ‘As we Stumble Along’, ‘Toledo Surprise’ and ‘I Do, I Do in the Sky’.









4. Next to Normal

We’ve seen a lot more acknowledgement of mental health recently, and Dear Evan Hansen has taken the musical world by storm, receiving a lot of praise for its acknowledgement of mental illness within young people. Another musical that I’ve been loving lately, which also tackles mental illness is Next to Normal. It’s a musical about a ‘normal’ family, that isn’t (partly because there’s no such thing as a ‘normal’ family but that’s beside the point). I don’t want to spoil anything but if you’re interested in musicals that tackle mental illness this is definitely one to try.


Songs I’m Loving: ‘I Miss the Mountains’, ‘So Anyway’, and ‘Aftershocks’

Logo for Next to Normal the Musical
Image Credit - Eventbrite

5. If / Then

This musical is a bit of an Idina Menzel show but I love the premise. It’s based on the idea that one decision can cause your life to go in drastically different ways. Elizabeth – Beth/ Liz – has to decide whether to go with one friend or another on a simple day at the park, and it creates two different storylines that run in tandem with one another. It’s a bit convoluted but it has some really nice songs and I love the way that some of the songs are both storylines combined.


Songs I’m Loving: ‘What If?’, ‘Ain’t No Man Manhattan’ and ‘Always Starting Over’.

Logo for If/Then the Musical
Image Credit - MTI

I hope that this list has given you some new ideas to try. Check out this Youtube video for a few more ideas (I’ll admit, it was this video that introduced me to Six).


Hwyl am nawr,

J x

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page